Print Page   |   Sign In
Site Search

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 








 

 

 

 

Board of Directors

General Information

El Camino Youth Symphony provides first-rate music education for    our young musicians by fostering a nurturing environment where    they can train and develop their artistic talents and skills.  As well, we encourage performance excellence by presenting outstanding musical events for the community.  Guided by strong leadership, we ensure    that our faculty and staff have the financial and professional support necessary to consistently maintain the  high level of all ECYS music education and performance programs.  Our Board of Directors is composed of parents and interested community members who volunteer their time and effort.

ECYS Board members are responsible for the future of our organization, and believe strongly in our stated values of "excellence in a nurturing environment.”  As such, they generously give of their time, energy, counsel, and financial support, while developing relationships with the surrounding community, and working together to keep ECYS a healthy, vibrant music education organization.

Expectations for Board Members include the following: attendance at monthly meetings to provide candid, helpful advice and guidance for the organization; participation in one or more committees; participation in developing fund-raising opportunities; provision of sensitive support to staff members; and financial support of the organization at whatever level possible.  For additional information or to inquire about Board openings, contact the ECYS office at (650) 665-9046 OR e-mail Development Director, Kay Kleinerman, at kkleinerman@ecys.org. 

Ways to Serve | Frequently Asked Questions


2017 - 2018 ECYS Board of Directors

 

Officers:

Jennifer Matthews, President - jennifer.matthews@ecys.org
Richard Cliff, Vice-President - richard.cliff@ecys.org
Joe Li, Secretary - joe.li@ecys.org
Mandy L. Sherman, Treasurer - mandy.sherman@ecys.org


Members at Large
:

Bhaskar Deka -bhaskar.deka@ecys.or                                                                                                                  Paula Gablenz - paula.gablenz@ecys.org                                                                                                      Lorna Harding - lorna.harding@ecys.org                                                                                           Lisa Huang- lisa.huang@ecys.org                                                                                                          Virginia Chang Kiraly virginia.kiraly@ecys.org                                                                                  Julie Lee - julie.lee@ecys.org                                                                                                                 Jason May - jason.may@ecys.org                                                                                                           Badsah Mukherji - badsah.mukherji@ecys.org                                                                                               Billie Solomon - billie.solomon@ecys.org                                                                                              Pirasenna Thiyagarajan - pirasenna.thiyagarajan@ecys.org                                                                                                                    

 


Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee members consist primarily of past Board members, especially officers. These members act, on an as-needed basis, as advisors and consultants and are available to answer questions and to discuss historical perspectives about ECYS.

Adele Chen
Emily Chen
Jean Mach 
Peter Farmer
Bruce Fogel
Elena Kagan
Joseph Maurer
Karen Kronick 


Ways to Serve

As a Board member you can share your expertise, opinions, and experience by chairing or serving on any of the following committees, which all work, as needed, with the Executive Director and Music Director:

  • The Executive Committee—oversees the activities and organization of the board and acts for the full board in matters that require immediate action or do not involve major questions of policy or funding.
  • The Finance Committee—works in coordination with the ECYS Treasurer to make recommendations regarding all financial procedures and controls, and reviews and assists in preparing and presenting all budgets and financial statements.
  • The Development Committee—takes charge of planning and coordinating fund-raising efforts and events.
  • The Parent Outreach and Communications Committeeplans and facilitates ECYS community relations events such as open-rehearsals, the annual Spring picnic, and concert receptions.
  • The Nominating Committee—takes responsibility for recruiting and recommending Board members as needed.  In addition, committee members actively promote ECYS to their communities of friends, neighbors, and coworkers to foster fruitful and rewarding relationships that help identify potential sponsors and donors.
  • The Personnel Committee—is responsible to the Board on all issues relating to ECYS personnel.
  • The Tour Committee—in conjunction with the Executive Director and the Music Director, plans and executes activities connected with the bi-annual summer Symphony tour.

Frequently Asked Questions

What if I am unable to meet the financial obligations of Board membership?

We appreciate your financial support at whatever level you are comfortable, but we also value the investments of your time, creativity, and energy.

Do I need a special talent to become a Board member?

Board membership offers many ways to contribute positively to ECYS.  We are sure that you will find activities that suit your needs and abilities.  We also believe that active Board participation may be an opportunity to recognize and nurture new abilities.

May I still serve on the Board even though I might have an occasional time conflict?

Of course, we all have busy lives, and while we hope for maximum participation, we are respectful of others’ workloads.  We ask that you notify the Board president if you are unable to attend a Board meeting.

Member Log-in


Calendar

7/16/2018 » 7/27/2018
Summer Music Conservatory